[Skip to Content]
Wirral University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust


Public governors are elected by their constituency members. In addition to their statutory duties, they have a primary responsibility to represent the interests of both public members and the wider public.

Composition of the Council of Governors:

13 Public Governors from the following public constituencies:

  • Bebington and Clatterbridge
  • Bidston and Claughton
  • Birkenhead, Tranmere and Rock Ferry
  • Bromborough and Eastham
  • Greasby, Frankby, Irby, Upton and Woodchurch
  • Heswall, Pensby and Thingwall
  • Leasowe, Moreton and Saughall Massie
  • Liscard and Seacombe
  • Neston, Little Neston, Parkgate, Riverside, Burton, Ness, Willaston and Thornton
  • New Brighton and Wallasey
  • North West and North Wales
  • Oxton and Prenton
  • West Wirral
  • 5 Staff Governors from the following areas:
    • 1 Registered medical practitioners and registered dentists
    • 2 Registered nurses and registered midwives
    • 1 Other healthcare professional staff
    • 1 Other Trust Staff
  • 2 Local Authority Governors to be appointed by Wirral Metropolitan Borough Council
  • 2 Governors to be appointed by
    • University of Liverpool
    • Wirral Third Sector Assembly